Thankful

img_1910

Yesterday was Patrick’s Thanksgiving assembly. I never know what emotions these school events will ignite.  I went to this event with my game face on…Patrick’s wonderful and kind teacher gave me a heads up at our parent teacher conference that Patrick’s thankful slide was about Katy.

Her forewarning although much appreciated couldn’t keep the tears from rolling down my face.  As, I listened  to his friends be thankful for their dogs, hover boards, Christmas, cousins and friends. I heard my sweet little boy’s voice.  Loud and strong “I’m thankful for my sister, Katy! She was very nice.”  

The word was made me cringe… and made my face turn red…it made me want to grab what was left of my family and run. It was the most heartbreaking sentence I have ever heard my little boy speak.

But, I didn’t run… I squeezed my husband’s leg (3 times) and smiled.  Smiled because Patrick is absolutely right.  We are thankful that Katy chose us to be her mom and dad.  That we were blessed with 6.5 wonderful years with our beautiful, daughter, sister, granddaughter, niece, cousin, friend, tiny dancer, soccer star, Cardiac anomaly ROCKSTAR and all around beautiful soul.  Katy was an angel here on earth, and we were blessed to get to spend all of her days here with her.  That was a gift.  A HUGE gift. A gift we never took for granted and a gift that keeps on giving.  Katy has opened and reshaped my heart and the hearts of so many others.

To my little thoughtful man thank you for reminding me I have so much to be thankful for.  Most especially for the kind and compassionate young man you are. I’m thankful for the love you have for both of your sisters.  I ‘m thankful you are not afraid to share your sisters story.  I know Riley will know her big sister because of you.  I love you my little man to the moon and back and infinity and beyond.  I’m thankful for you Patrick Michael.

 

Leave a Reply

